Proof We Speak Different Languages! Weekly Writing Challenge:1,000 Words Take Two

Photo Courtesy of The Daily Post

Photo Courtesy of
The Daily Post

The eye never has enough of seeing,
nor the ear its fill of hearing.-Ecclesiastes 1:8(B) (biblegateway.com )

(Man, in his mind) “Love was so much easier when I was a kid. All I had to do was snatch five dollars out of my mom’s purse, pick up some Sweethearts at the candy store, and give them to my friend Ashley as we hung out in the tree-house on the abandoned pecan plantation.

Now, I had to borrow 5 thousand dollars from my father. No doubt he will not stop hounding me to pay it back at every single Sunday brunch. (Sigh) Ah..! She will never believe I am about to propose. I still can’t believe it is going to take me 28 payments of $39.95 to pay for the ‘ice-rink’ she claimed she had to have before she would ever get married. And what’s worse, I couldn’t have proposed in the park we live by now. Oh No!! I had to book 2 tickets to Ten-Buck-Two, make reservations at the Hilton hotel, and spend 3 days trekking the hard brick streets of a country that charges triple for a romantic dinner just because the napkins say ‘International Steak and Ale’ instead of just Steak and Ale.

Our waiter looked and sounded like the same guy back home. Because he said, ‘Would you like to try the wine?’ in a broken European accent, I was forced to play the hero and tip $100. I could swear those people on the other side of the street are my neighbors from two doors down. But I love her!

(Woman, also in head) Are you kidding me? I love him more than anything. What does it take to get a man to propose. He could have done it at the park. That way I could have called my family and they could have across town to see it. But no! I had to follow him half-way across the world. ‘Isn’t it going to be awesome, he says’. But I love him more than life itself!…

Should I tell him that is my parents and our neighbors the Williams’ across the street? What can I say? Don’t try to keep a secret and then write it all over face-space. Ha!

Copyright  © Dustin Poteet

2 thoughts on “Proof We Speak Different Languages! Weekly Writing Challenge:1,000 Words Take Two

Leave a Reply

